Home > Uncategorized > Grab pixel colors and hex values from your desktop

Grab pixel colors and hex values from your desktop

In the past, my labor intensive method for grabbing pixel color hex values off my desktop was the traditional:

  1. prt scrn (save the desktop to the clipboard)
  2. fire up photoshop and Ctrl+V paste the big image
  3. zoom in and click the eyedropper to figure out the hex values

There was a tool I used to use that ran a small executable that would show some info about the pixel under your mouse position.  It had some drawbacks, in that you still had to take out a pen and paper to write down the hex values – unless you have a better memory that I do, which you probably do.

I just found this nifty little tool called the ColorSchemer ColorPix that has pretty much the features that I’m looking for.  Should work great!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. July 9, 2013 at 3:01 am

    Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Thank you so much, However I am having issues with
    your RSS. I don’t understand why I can’t subscribe to it.
    Is there anyone else getting similar RSS issues? Anyone
    that knows the solution can you kindly respond?
    Thanx!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

