Home > tech, video > Elura 100 Headset Problem

Elura 100 Headset Problem

For a while now I’ve been trying to figure out how to setup a pair of headphones on my Elura 100 so that I could listen to the mic input. It seems silly that Canon would design the Elura 100 with a mic input, but no way to attach a pair of headphones to monitor the input. You can try to plug a headset directly into the AV output, but you’ll get a lot of feedback from the video signal that’s being piped out of there. You’ll need to create a solution that can filter out the video signal.

I finally had the opportunity to hit radio shack and they helped me figure out how to do it. It will cost you about $10 to buy the pieces for this makeshift adapter for a pair of headphones on the Elura 100.

You need to buy the following:

  • 1/8″ Coupler
  • Audio Adapter

Canon Elura 100 Headset HackThen you take your AV cable that came with the camera, plug it into the AV jack next to the mic input. After that’s attached, you plug the red and white audio RCA jacks into the audio adapter, then stick on the coupler, now you have a place to attach a set of headphones with a mini-plug. It’s a little klunky, but it’s the only solution that I’ve found that works. Again, it seems silly that Canon doesn’t sell a special pair of headphones that can filter out the video signal so that you can monitor the mic input.

Links:

Categories: tech, video
  1. March 15, 2007 at 6:32 am

    Thank you very much for posting this solution. I also have an Elura 100 and want to monitor my audio. I’ve been looking for the answer for months! You have ended my search. I’m going to head on down to RadioShack tomorrow and buy these two little parts. Thank you!

  2. June 26, 2007 at 11:00 pm

    I really appreciate your sharing this solution. I had tried several different headsets and adapters without any success. Fortunately I enjoy every other aspect of the Canon Elura 100.

    Best Regards,
    Plumer

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

